Baughman named UWF Chair Fetzer-Bascom Professor

As detailed in UW–Madison News, eleven distinguished faculty members have received named professorships—”some of the highest honors for established faculty”—including our own James L. Baughman, who was named a University of Wisconsin Foundation (UWF) Chair Bascom Professor:

James L. Baughman, named UWF Chair Fetzer-Bascom Professor of Journalism, has been a faculty member since 1979. A popular teacher and former director of the School of Journalism, he won a Distinguished Teaching Award in 2003. In 2005, he also received the Wisconsin Alumni Association’s Ken and Linda Ciriacks Alumni Outreach Excellence Award. His books include “Same Time, Same Station” (Johns Hopkins University Press), tracing the birth of American television.