Register online now for the 2016 SJMC Alumni Awards Banquet


2016 Alumni Awards Banquet

The faculty and staff of the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Journalism and Mass Communication invite you to our 2016 Alumni Awards Banquet.

Reception at 6 p.m., with dinner following at 7 p.m.
Friday, April 15, 2016
Gordon Dining and Event Center
Symphony Meeting Room | 770 W. Dayton Street | Madison, WI 53706

Please join us to celebrate the achievement of students, alumni, and friends. All SJMC alumni, faculty and staff, and current undergraduate and graduate students are welcome.

Register Online

Due to past requests, we have discontinued paper invites and banquet registration forms. Register and purchase tickets all online!:

Please note that you can still submit a check for payment. You would still register online, and provided instructions for where to send the check.

Award Winners

This year’s honorees include:

Ralph O. Nafziger Award
For distinguished achievement within 10 years of graduation
Haley Van Dyck ’08
Senior Technology Advisor, U.S. Digital Service, The White House

Harold L. Nelson Award
For distinguished contribution to research in journalism and mass communication education
Bruce Evensen, PhD ’89
Journalism Program Director, DePaul University

Distinguished Service Awards
For professional contributions in journalism and mass communication
Ray Allen ’74
Secretary, Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development

Dave Chapman ’79
Partner/Director, Ketchum West

Abigail Goldman ’92
Assistant Adjunct Professor, Department of Communication Studies, UCLA

Mike Gousha ’78
Anchor, WTMJ-TV

Registration is required, and e-mail invitations have been sent.
E-mail Rowan Calyx at for more details.