Robinson Wins 2012 Krieghbaum Under-40 Award

Sue Robinson, Associate Professor of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, was named the winner of the 2012 Krieghbaum Under-40 Award from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC). The annual award is given to “AEJMC members under 40 years of age who have shown outstanding achievement and effort in all three AEJMC areas: teaching, research and public service.”

Named in honor of Hillier Krieghbaum, the influential New York University professor and activist, the award is widely seen as recognizing the most accomplished young academics in the field, typically those who have made a major impact on Journalism and Mass Communications early in their career. It is considered to be one of the greatest honors that AEJMC bestows.

After spending a dozen years as a reporter and then receiving her PhD from Temple University in 2007, Robinson arrived at SJMC as an assistant professor focusing on the sociology of news. She was promoted to associate professor this summer. She teaches and studies online journalism, information authority and new technologies, and has published widely on these topics.

Robinson is the fourth faculty member of the UW-Madison’s School of Journalism and Mass Communication to win the award, which was previously conferred on Sharon Dunwoody, Robert Drechsel, and Dhavan Shah. She will collect the award, which comes with a check, at the AEJMC awards ceremony on Saturday, August 11.