SJMC, WSUM receive awards and scholarships from the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association (WBA)

UW Madison students were rewarded for their hard work at the annual Wisconsin Broadcasters Association student awards in Madison.

Student reporters for The Badger Report television newscast swept the TV News Story category, and the Podcast Radio category was shared by SJMC students and WSUM.

SJMC student Ken Kosirowski won a $2,000 scholarship, and AJ Garcia, sports director at WSUM, won a Leadership Award for his skills in the field.

Left to right: AJ Garcia, Pat Hastings, Ken Kosirowski

Here is a listing of the awards:

TV News Story:
1st Place: Helen Matsumoto
2nd Place: Helen Matsumoto
3rd Place: Helen Matsumoto/Logan Reigstad

TV News Series/Documentary
2nd Place: Jake Rickun “Log Out”

TV Sports Story:
1st Place: Robbie Heimbruch
2nd Place: Ken Kosirowski

Non News Audio:
3rd Place: Maddy Heim

Best Website:
1st Place: WSUM
2nd Place: The Badger Report

Audio Podcast:
1st Place: WSUM
2nd Place: Sandra Kinzer
3rd Place: Taylor Palmby

Newscast Radio:
1st Place: WSUM
2nd Place: WSUM

News Story Radio:
3rd Place: WSUM

Sports Story Radio:
1st Place WSUM

Sports Play by Play Radio:
1st Place: WSUM

Social Media:
1st Place: WSUM