



# School of Journalism and Mass Communication

UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-MADISON

## A MESSAGE FROM PROFESSOR KATY CULVER

Dear J-School Class of 2020,

I have been having all the feels about you lately. Mainly I've been so bummed that we will not be together for our graduation celebration, and you won't be jumping around at Camp Randall in your caps and gowns. But then listening to Beyoncé made me realize I was wrong.

We are apart on this important occasion, but, as The Queen sings, it's nothing but space and time. Your J-School degree is not about this moment. It's about the countless other moments that have mattered in your time here. It's about presenting your first research as a grad student. It's about late nights in College Library bringing that 345 plan book home. It's about calling yet another source to make your story truly strong. And it's about that damnable train going off the tracks *outside* Stoughton.

The J-School has always been about important things: critical thinking, clear expression, understanding larger issues and, yes, lots and lots of hard work. But the most important thing the J-School has ever been about is you, our students.

You give us your talent, your depth, your openness, your grit and your humor. In return, we try to give you lessons that will last your lifetime. We want to help you develop a growth mindset and see yourself as adaptable, ever ready to tackle new challenges. We encourage you to see each other and work together.

The truth is, when you look back as a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Journalism and Mass Communication, you will not be thinking about commencement. Almost none of my treasured memories of past students focus on that event (except one magical moment when I looked down from the faculty seats on stage and saw one of my J-Schoolers pull a six-pack of Spotted Cow from under her graduation gown).

When you look back, you will be thinking about each other and about us. The friendships made. The successes celebrated. The failures that forged your resolve. And I'm betting you'll be thinking about a lot of laughter.

So my heartiest congratulations to all of you on this important day. You're now Badger J-School ALUMNI until the end of time.

On, Wisconsin!

Professor Katy Culver

#### **CONGRATULATIONS, CLASS OF 2020!**

Jordan Abt Isaac Alter Lawrence Andrea Georgia Ansley Jade Anthony Meggie Armstrong Kathryn Arneson Brennan Bahr Van Bassindale Rayna Battista Madeleine Beck Maxwell Bibicoff Jacob Borowsky Madeline Boulanger Henry Brafman Hannah Brandt Brianna Bren

Emilie Burditt
Claire Campbell
Claire Chappell
Mackenzie Christman
Jessica Christoffer

Grace Brown

Lauren Chung Madeleine Clark Sarah Cohen Shiloah Coley\* Madeline Collins Kylie Compe

Dale Crittenberger Caroline Daniels Peyton David Benjamin Davis Isaiah De Los Santos

Ana Demendoza-Thomas\*

Flora Junhua Deng Claire Derosa Mackenzi Dow Allyson Duffy

Kassandra Dunnihoo

Juliet Dupont
Allison Dweck
Claire Eckerle
Hailey Eisenrich
Amy Evon
Alexis Falci

lvy Fedewa Marissa Fishkin Alexander Fishkind

Brant Fistel
Keegan Gallup
Allison Garfield
Erica Gelman
Sara Geschke
Grady Gibson
Suzanne Gilreath
Amanda Glass
Eva Glick

Hannah Goldberg Alanna Goldman Samantha Goodman

Naomi Gross
Megan Growt
Morgan Grunow
Andrew Guckes
Alesha Guenther
Hee Soo Ha
Zahiah Hammad
Rebecca Heavenrich
Bethany Henneman
Adelaide Hernberg
Katherine Herrick

Sadie Hersh Beniamin Hersh

Benjamin Hershberger Alexa Herskowitz Lisa Heverly Katherine Higgins James Hirsch Ana Hoff

Faith Hoffmeyer Brooke Hollingsworth

Makena House
Tiffany Huang
Emma Hubler
Alyssa Hui
Kayla Huynh
Megan Janssen
Allison Jensen
Amanda Jensen
Jeitong Jiang
Ella Johnson
Lucas Johnson

Noah Jones Samantha Jones\* Victoria Jordan Elizabeth Jortberg Peyton Kadlecek Michelle Kammerman

Peter Kane
Jillian Kazlow
Bremen Keasey
Julianne Kelly
Charles Kitcat
Katie Klemm
Magdalena Kmiecik

Leah Korn Kennedy Krause Kamrynn Lamontagne

Jaya Larsen Callie Lederman Harry Lees

Montana Leggett Blair Leichter Emma Leonovicz

Caroline Li Abby Lipman Yicen Liu Ashley Luehmann

Nnayongo Malafa Amelia Matzke Emma Maxson Cara McCabe Charlotte McCarthy Rhiannon McCarthy Allysan Melby

\*James L. Baughman Senior Achievement Award Winner



#### **CONGRATULATIONS, CLASS OF 2020!**

Abigail Meyer Henry Michaels Alexa Miller Mary Miller

Jonathan Mills

Samantha Mintz-Agnello

Fiona Moran Jaci Moseley\* Colton Mosley Dana Munro

Colleen Muraca

Mara Nasui

Michelle Navarro

Karly Nelson

Jared Neumann

Crisanna Novotny

Matthew O'Connor

Lily Oberstein\*

Amanda Oelke

Bailey Owens

Emma Patet

Samantha Patricof Rave Pernsteiner

Catherine Peterson

Caraline Pham

Kynala Phillips

Spice Phongthiengtham

Danielle Pohlen

Kia Pourmodheji

Claudia Prevete

Joseph Pueschner

Gillian Quinn

Kimberly Rose

Matthew Rosen Caitlin Rowe

Hunter Ruediger

Emily Sachs

 $Nour\ Safwat$ 

Meritt Schoenecker

Brice Schreter

Nicole Schuster

Alexis Schweinert

Garrett Seymour

Jason Shebilske

Perri Sheftel

Nicole Shields

Arielle Simon

Melissa Simon

Grant Smits

Shelby Spiegel

Justine Spore

Serena Steinfeld

Nicolette Stern

William Stern

Paige Strigel

Hanzhu Tang

Hannah Twietmeyer

Sasha VanAllen

Francisco Velazquez-Turcios

Luke Verdecchia

Emma Wade

Payton Wade

Amelia Wagner

John Walsh

Yujie Wang

Michael Warren

David Weinberg

Jamie Weintraub

Starr Welk-Schwartz

Capri Whiteley

Matthew Whitney

Sophia Wimmel

Caitlin Wolf

Stephanie Wolf

Angela Wolter

Tenzin Woser

Carl Zabat Jr.

Clare Zakowski

Amalia Zeinemann

Julia Zerull

Qiyu Zhanq

Defang Zhang

Joann Zindler\*

### **GRADUATE STUDENTS**

Shezad Baloch, MA
Keith Bradley-Hewitt, MA
Heysun Choung, PhD
Jordan Foley, PhD
Gaofei Li, MA
Xining Liao, MA
Josephine Lukito, PhD
Meredith Metzler, PhD
Emily Shetler, MA
Xinyi Wang, MA
Kathryn Wisniewski, MA
Max Witynski, MA
Alicia Wright, PhD
Natalie Yahr, MA
Yini Zhang, PhD

#### **WANT MORE?**

Want to keep the celebration going? Visit us at journalism.wisc. edu/2020-graduates to learn more about the Class of 2020!

Follow the UW-Madison School of Journalism and Mass Communication on social media to stay up to date and learn more about our exceptional students.







\*James L. Baughman Senior Achievement Award Winner

