



School of Journalism and Mass Communication UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-MADISON

PRESENTING THE GRADUATING — CLASS OF 2021 —

CLASS OF 2021 GRADUATION CELEBRATION SPEAKERS



Lauren Tucker (PhD'93) Founder and CEO, Do What Matters

Dr. Lauren Tucker is the founder and CEO of Do What Matters, an inclusion management consultancy designed to shepherd the diversity, equity and inclusion efforts of communications firms from well-meaning intent to sustainable impact. Having worked at some of the most renowned advertising and marketing agencies in the world, including Leo Burnett, Burrell Communications, the Martin Agency and Merge, she focuses her research on the application of nudge theory to designing actionable inclusion solutions that help agencies and communications firms achieve sustainable diversity, equity and inclusion initiatives while driving quality growth.

Lauren is a proud graduate of the University of Wisconsin, the University of Texas and the University of Virginia, and her 25+ year marketing communication career is only part of her story. She's a community activist and one of the founders of Indivisible Chicago, a progressive organization designed to make civic engagement more accessible.



Pat Hastings (MA'93) Distinguished Faculty Associate, UW-Madison SJMC

Patricia Hastings is a Faculty Associate in the SJMC, earning the title of Distinguished. She specializes in video and audio journalism. She is responsible for overseeing the Badger Report, a livestreamed student-produced newscast, which has received many awards for student work. She also teaches Long Form Video Journalism, Reporting Principles and Practices and Storytelling Through Sound.

As advisor to the Public Relations Student Society of America, she works with a large and dedicated group of students. In the past, she has supervised student

entries into the PRSSA Bateman Competition.

Prior to joining SJMC, Hastings worked in radio and television news in Pittsburgh, Indianapolis, Milwaukee and Green Bay, to name a few. She has extensive radio and television news reporting and producing experience. She also owned her own media consulting firm and is listed with producer credits in the Internet Movie Database (IMDb) for work producing independent films. In addition, she has produced streamed video events.

Hastings was accepted as a member of the Podcast Academy, and solicits ideas from educators for podcast use in education. She also belongs to Podchaser and the Milwaukee Press Club. She serves on the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association Education Committee and is active in judging contests for the WBA as well as contributing to the state convention. Hastings received her BA in Journalism from the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, and her MA at the University of Wisconsin-Madison's School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

Although she worked as a reporter and producer in several markets, Hastings finds working with students to be most gratifying. When she is not working in the reporting labs, Hastings can be found biking various trails or watching The Milwaukee Brewers. Or really, any baseball.

CONGRATULATIONS, CLASS OF 2021!

Bashir Aden Sydnie Albert Holly Anderson Katie Baker Malina Barker Megan Benson Emily Bian John Bildings* Haley Bills Rachel Blum Michael Bogaards **Eleanor Bogart-Stuart** Isabella Bowman Josie Brandmeier Andrew Bredland Kelsey Bridges Gabrielle Bruns Sam Buisman* Molly Carmichael Miranda Pacheco Hunter Carroll Alexa Chatham Sonya Chechik Sydney Cohen Chloe Colaluca Hayley Copus Allison Courtney Annabel Cowen Samantha Crane Jakeb Danielson Molly Davis Molly DeVore Courtney Degen Nathan Denzin Abby Doeden Ingrid Duffy Reagan Eckley Hunter Ellis Anisha Engineer Courtney Erdman Shelby Evans Taiwo Famule

Ethan Feller Kristen Folev **Emily Friedl** Olivia Fuld Gretchen Gerlach Miranda Getreu Cassidy Giese Em Giombi Elise Goldstein Celia Golod* Emma Gottsegen Alexander Gravatt Emma Graves Lily Gray Jacob Gross Paige Haehlke Raynee Hamilton Hannah Harms **Brighid Hartnett** John Hatton Kyler Haupt Lauren Henning Kelly Hogan Alyssa Huglen William Husted Jennifer Hwang Chelsea Hylton Kayla Hymowitz Sam Idler Marci Jacobson Colin Jay Hunter Kaplan Hannah Katz Henry Keefe Benjamin Kenney Katherine Kermgard Emily Klos Allyson Konz Henry Kosvic Leah Kramer Charlotte Kriftcher Veronica Kuffel

Lauren Laib Nile Lansana Samuel Larson Lucas Latterell Katherine Lawless Molly Liebergall Philomena Lindquist Megan Little Xinyi (Cindy) Liu Angela Maag Sophia Madore Maxwell Maegaard Jane Mahon Jessica Matson Taylor Meredith Abby Meyer Paige Mezzatesta Erin Michels Alexandria Millet* Jacqueline Mitchell Alexis Mixon Amanda Mizera* Abby Moeckler Danielle Mohr Justin Moore Madalyn Mueller Peyton Murray Mava Muschitz Alex Nerod Savanna Normand Enjoyiana Nururdin Elise O'Brien Ashley Obuljen Grace Osgood Paige Parks Michael Parsky Virginia Perra Annie Petras Mia Petrosino Madison Phillips Matthew Piotrowski Kingsley-Reigne Pissang

CONGRATULATIONS, CLASS OF 2021!

Isabella Pompeo Ava Pretzer Ellen Pucel Abby Radewahn Madeline Rasmussen **Emily Ravet** Kaoru Ro Téalin Robinson Jamie Rogers Kyla Rosenberg Samantha Salmirs Kadeia Schultheis Gabrielle Schwartz Jared Schwartz Peter Shannon Maya Shea **Jiyeon Sim** Taylor Slutzker Abigail Smith **Channing Smith** Hayley Snell Carly Sokol Ellie Spadaccini Lizzy Stein Abigail Steinberg* Bobbi Stricker Yiming Sui Cara Suplee Yugiong Tao Ayaka Thorson Paige Tuttle Olivia Van Den Heuvel Madison Waechter Chloe Weil Henry West Sophia Westover Andrew Wheat Will Whitmore J. Adam Wigger Ellie Williams Patrick Williams HannahRae Wilson Kristina Wiltshire

Catie Wolc McKenzie Woyak Jonathan Wright Sally Young Marcus Zhao Reagan Zimmerman Daniel Ziolkowski Lilly Zoller

*James L. Baughman Senior Achievement Award Winner

KEEP IN TOUCH!

Want to keep the celebration going? Visit us at journalism. wisc.edu/2021-graduates to learn more about the Class of 2021!

Follow the UW-Madison School of Journalism and Mass Communication on social media to stay up to date and learn more about our exceptional students.

O.



GRADUATE STUDENTS

Songtao Bao, MA Robyn Baragwanath, PhD Helen Cho, PhD Moonhoon Choi, PhD Ornella Hills, PhD Sunghak Kim, PhD lan Kpachavi, MA Tomoko Okada, PhD Steven Potter, MA Arailym Sheraly, MA Min-Hsin Su. PhD Jiyoun Suk, PhD Yibing Sun, MA Chau Tong, PhD Arina Tveleneva, MA David Wise, PhD

ON WISCONSIN! MAY 7, 2021

