James P. Danky Wins AJHA’s Distinguished Service Award

The AJHA Awards Committee has announced that James P. Danky has won the rare honor of the organization’s Distinguished Service to Journalism History Award.

This award is reserved for those generally outside the field of academe who have made major contributions to the preservation of journalism history.

“The AJHA has given our Distinguished Service to Journalism History Award on only four occasions,” said Dr, Thomas A. Mascaro, a professor at Bowling Green State and chair of the AJHA Awards committee. “Thus, it is obvious that any successful nominee must be someone who truly ‘has made an extraordinary effort to further significantly our understanding of, our ability to explore, media history.’ I believe Jim Danky is such an individual.”