SJMC Students and WSUM Win 2022 WBA Student Awards for Excellence

Wisconsin Broadcasters Association logo

On February 25, the winners of the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association (WBA) 2022 Student Awards for Excellence were announced and five awards were given to J-School students for their broadcasting projects and WSUM received 14 awards. The WBA Student Awards for Excellence recognize students’ work in broadcasting at the collegiate level for several categories including television, radio, podcast, and multimedia.

Congratulations to all of our J-Schoolers and the WSUM team for their excellent work! A full list of J-School and WSUM winners is as follows:

Newscast (Radio)
First Place: WSUM – News at 6: Oct. 6, 2022
Second Place: WSUM – News at 5: Feb. 21, 2022

General News Story (Radio)
First Place: WSUM – USDA Finds Use for Flax Seed Waste
Second Place: Abigail Leavins – Wisconsin Capitol Tree Lighting Ceremony Today

Sports Programming – Non Play-by-Play (Radio)
Second Place: WSUM – Badgers v Kansas State Women’s Basketball Pregame Coverage
Third Place: WSUM – And Still with Riley Jauch

Sports Play-by-Play (Radio)
Third Place: WSUM – Badgers v Colgate Men’s Basketball Play-by-Play

Station Imaging (Radio)
Third Place: WSUM – WSUM’s Party in the Park Promo

Podcast (Radio)
First Place: Emily Kaysinger – US, Constituted – On the Independent State Legislature Theory, A Legal Argument With “Grave Implications” For Our Elections, episodes one, two and three

Long Form Production Non-News (Radio)
First Place: WSUM – Investigating the Werewolf of Wisconsin

Public Affairs/Talk Show (Radio)
First Place: WSUM – On, Wisconsin: Discussing “Sifting and Reckoning”
Second Place: Hope Karnopp and Tyler Katzenberger – Cardinal Call: Interstate Plasma To Close Campus-Area Location
Third Place: WSUM – On, Wisconsin: Interviewing Mandela Barnes

PSAs/Commercials (Radio)
First Place: WSUM – Winter is Coming PSA
Second Place: WSUM – Madison Wildlife PSA
Third Place: WSUM – Jaywalking PSA

Second Place: Nicole Herzog, Mason Braasch, Braden Ross, Matt Blaustein, and Staff of Curb Magazine – Curb Online

Social Media
First Place: Robin Robinson and Staff of Curb Magazine – Curb Pulse Instagram, TikTok, Twitter
Second Place: WSUM – WSUM Instagram