SJMC Students Earn WBA Student Awards for Excellence

Students standing with instructor Pat Hastings at the WBA Student Seminar
SJMC students attending the WBA Student Seminar on March 5, 2022 with Distinguished Teaching Faculty Pat Hastings (third from right).

Over the weekend, the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association held their Student Seminar and announced the winners of both their scholarships and the Student Awards for Excellence. Students and recent alums from the J-School won 10 awards for different projects in broadcasting and WSUM received 13 awards.

We’re so proud of our current and former J-Schoolers! The full list of UW-Madison award winners is as follows:

News Series/Documentary (TV)
First Place: TaggedZoe Bockhorst

Newscast (Radio)
Second Place: WSUM, 5 p.m. News 9/27/21
Third Place: WSUM, 5 p.m. News 10/21/21

Newscast (TV)
Second Place: The Badger Report, 11/19/21, producers Gaby Vinick and Kim Leadholm

Writing (Radio)
Third Place: WSUM, All Across the World, Countries Commit to Climate Protection Efforts

Feature Story (Radio)
First Place: WSUM, Fort McCoy Refugees See Madison Ballet’s Nutcracker

Sports Story (TV)
Third Place: Head Injury PreventionKelsey Tehan

Sports Play-by-Play (Radio)
Third Place: WSUM, Las Vegas Bowl Play-by-Play

Photojournalism (TV)
Second Place: Hitchcock: A Radio PlayJerome Barnett

Special Programming (Radio)
Third Place: WSUM, Totalmente Cobra Nenhum Lago

Audio Storytelling-Sound (Radio)
First Place: Commander’s IntentReagan Zimmerman
Second Place: Crushin’ in COVIDGrace Landsberg

Public Affairs/Talk Show (Radio)
First Place: WSUM, Midwifery Program at Stake
Second Place: WSUM, 4 Tha Culture
Third Place: WSUM, Travis Scott Festival Tragedy/Concert Safety

PSAs/Commercials (Radio)
First Place: WSUM, Poggers
Second Place: WSUM, Moshpit Safety
Third Place: WSUM, Socially Distanced Dates

First Place: Curb Online
Second Place: On the Record
Third Place: Cutting Class

Social Media
First Place: Curb Magazine
Second Place: WSUM Instagram